Peter Cavanagh has been elected as National Director of PSSA

We are so proud of our president who is now also elected to serve as a national director of PSSA from November 2018 for 2 years.

Attached is the letter we received from PSSA:


In each even year (2018) the Photographic Society of South Africa calls for nominations of the National Directors, whilst each odd year the Regional Directors are nominated.  Regardless of whether a serving Director offers to stand for another term, they still need to be nominated.  The nomination forms were sent to all PSSA members and the closing date for these nominations was 15 June 2018.PSSA in accordance with the Memorandum of Incorporation (MOI) has a maximum of 21 Directors. Presently there are 10 serving Regional Directors.  The position of Finance/COY Secretary Director, held by Francois Roux is not voted for since this is permanent post on the Board of the Society.  Thus this year there were 10 posts available for National Directors.

Five of the present serving Directors were re-nominated and five new nominations were received. Therefore these nominations filled the vacant posts and thus there will be no need for an election.

We wish to thank the following Directors who did not make themselves available for re-nomination for their tirelessly work and duty in serving the Society with enthusiasm and diligence and giving of their time willingly to ensure that the Society is well run. The diligence, efficiency and passion for the work will indeed be missed.
– Geoff Feldon – Kwa Zulu Natal
– Anton la Grange – Northern Gauteng
– Johann van der Walt – Central Gauteng
– Adri van Oudheusden – Eastern Cape
We welcome back to duty the following Directors, who have all served the Society so well in the past and we are sure will continue to do so for the next term of office, which commences on 01 November 2018.
– Evelyn Gibson – Northern GautengLeon Jacobs – Southern Gauteng
– Francois Rousseau – Northern Gauteng – Jill Sneesby – Eastern Cape
– Roel van Oudheusden – Eastern Cape
And last but not least we give a hearty welcome to the in-coming National Directors and congratulate them on their nominations and election to the Board of PSSA.  We believe they have much to contribute and on behalf of the Directors we look forward to working with you all.  The two-year term of office will commence on 01 November 2018.
– Martin Barber – Southern GautengJ P Bester – Western Cape
– Peter Cavanagh – Mpumalanga
– Simon Fletcher – Northern Gauteng
– Leo Theron – Northern Gauteng
Anne d’ Oliveira                                     Francois Roux
President                                               1st Vice-President